Atlanta welcomes Skylar Diggins to the WNBA

Skylar Diggins, the third overall pick in the 2013 draft, claims she received her ‘welcome to the WNBA moment’ in the preseason. After a court side view of the Atlanta DREAM’s season opener versus the Tulsa Shock Saturday, I’d beg to differ.

Diggins contributed 15 points in almost 34 minutes of play while adding three rebounds, three assists and two steals as a starter for the Shock. Still, the athletic DREAM, led by second-year guard Tiffany Hayes propelled the Dream past Tulsa, 98-81.

skylar first game wnba.com

Critics and supporters of Diggins were disappointed in her performance. She failed to display her cool, calm, and collected demeanor she exuded at Notre Dame. Diggins admits to feeling more pressure by the DREAM than she felt at the collegiate level, however, she is her toughest critic. 

“I don’t think it’s any more pressure than I put on myself to be honest. I don’t think anybody can put more pressure on me than I put on myself. It’s just a matter of learning the system, learning my teammates, and just handling doing my job and like I said you can’t teach experience so it’s good for me to be out on the court, getting that in game experience, and to just watch the film, learn from it, and have a short team memory and come back and get ready for Washington,” Diggins said.

As the PG told laurenamayosports post game in the locker room, “nothing beats experience”. In regards to Skylar’s career, there’s no where to go but up. 

Welcome to the WNBA. 

Photo Credit WNBA.com

Leave a Reply

